AIPM celebrates 20 years of project excellence

PM News
May 21, 2020

The Australian Institute of Project Management (AIPM) has launched its 2020 Project Management Achievement Awards (PMAAs), the annual accolades recognising project excellence and the people behind them.

Established by AIPM in 2000, the awards exist to recognise, honour, and promote outstanding achievements in program and project leadership. This year marks its 20th anniversary, a significant milestone for the program in Australia.

AIPM chief executive Elizabeth Foley said over the years there have been changes to reflect the range of projects being submitted.

“Our awards need to continually represent and reward an increasingly diverse and complex submission and judging process.

“The Awards program continues to evolve as we see the calibre of entrants and standards of project management increase each year. In our 20th anniversary year, we have reviewed the program and award categories to reflect the increase in the quality of projects delivered in Australia, and the benchmark being set to reward these projects.”

As part of the changes, the Institute has worked to streamline the awards submission process and extend the awards categories. This includes:

  • 10 categories for the leadership and management of projects
  • 3 awards for individual project management achievement
  • Submissions can be made in only one category
  • Revision of submission criteria
  • Reduction of overall submission length
  • Fully online submission process.

Any project can enter, though there is a reduced entry fee for AIPM members.

Submissions close 31 July 2020 with Chapters to present awards in November and National awards to be presented in early 2021.

See the 2020 Project Management Achievement Awards website for more information.

Author avatar
PM News
From the newsdesk at
Read more