AXELOS ProPath, the world's most powerful project, programme and portfolio best practice certifications

Registered training as project professional development

Anne Booc
July 20, 2012

Members of the global professional association the Project Management Institute (PMI) will already be familiar with the PMI’s certification program, which includes PMP (Project Management Professional) and other project-related PMI credentials such as PgMP for program management, PMI-SP for scheduling, and PMI-RMP for risk management. To maintain certification you are required to earn a specified number of Professional Development Units, or PDUs, to keep that credential.

PMI has developed six categories of PDUs in which one can obtain credits. Category A is Courses offered by PMI’s Registered Education Providers or Chapters and Communities, one of the three Educational categories.

PDU Category A covers any professional development training gained through one of PMI’s Registered Education Providers (R.E.P.s). R.E.P.s can be identified by their PMI R.E.P. logo (see above left) and can include schools, accredited consultants or training programs, and PMI chapters. If you suspect misuse of the logo, R.E.P. accreditation can be confirmed by searching the PMI database.

Our company is a PMI R.E.P. and we offer The PDU Podcast allowing you to earn Category A PDUs toward your recertification simply by watching webinars on your computer or portable player.

PDU Category A also include attending PMI sponsored seminars, conferences, chapter meetings, and community of practices meetings. A list of these events can be found on you PMI Chapter website. Any PMI member or non-member can sign up to attend most of these events.

As a rule, for each hour of instruction you receive in the areas of project management, program management, project scheduling, or project risk management you can claim one PDU.

Lastly, you can also earn PDUs in Category A by taking and passing of a PMI Publication Quiz. This consists of reading a specified article and answering at least 80 percent of the questions correctly. Check the PMI website for details.

There is no limit on the number of PDUs that can be reported for Category A. All 60 PDUs needed to maintain the PMP or PgMP credentials, or 30 for the PMI-SP or PMI-RPM credentials over the three-year cycle can be claimed in Category A. All you need to claim a PDU in Category A is the registration form, certificate, or letter of attendance for each PDU you earned.

No Photo
Anne Booc
Rachel Anne Booc works for OSP International, a PMI Registered Education Provider.
Read more